Past Winners of the US Open Men’s Tennis Championship

Every year, the US Open draws thousands of tennis fans to New York for the greatest summer spectacular. The men’s tennis championship starts with 128 players competing for the final 16 spots in the main draw. Only one player takes home the trophy. While we gear up for the 2022 US Open, which takes place August 29 to September 11, let’s take a look back at the past 10 winners of the US Open Men’s Tennis Championship who got to raise the trophy at Arthur Ashe Stadium.

Loading Events

Men’s US Open Tennis Champions

2022 Winner: Carlos Alcaraz

2021 Winner: Daniil Medvedev

Russian tennis player Daniil Medvedev won his first major title at the 2021 US Open with a 6-4, 6-4, 6-4 victory against Novak Djokovic. He became only the third Russian male athlete to win a major title.


2020 Winner: Dominic Thiem

Austrian tennis player Dominic Thiem won his first Grand Slam title at the 2020 US Open. He defeated Alexander Zverev 2-6, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 7-6(6), marking the first US Open final to be decided by a fifth-set tie-break.


2019 Winner: Rafael Nadal

Spanish tennis player Rafael Nadal won his 19th career Grand Slam title at the 2019 US Open, and his fourth US Open crown. He beat Daniil Medvedev 7-5, 6-3, 5-7, 4-6, 6-4 in the men’s single final.


2018 Winner: Novak Djokovic

Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic beat Juan Martin del Potro from Argentina to win his second consecutive major. He defeated del Potro 6-3, 7-6, 6-3 to win his third US Open crown and 14th Grand Slam title.


2017 Winner: Rafael Nadal

Top seed Rafael Nadal defeated surprise finalize Kevin Anderson in a one-sided final to claim his third men’s singles title at the 2017 US Open. This win further solidified his place as one of the all-time champions of the US Open.


2016 Winner: Stan Wawrinka

Swiss tennis player Stan Wawrinka won his third grand slam title with a 6-6, 6-4, 7-5, 6-3 victory over Novak Djokovic at the 2016 US Open. Djokovic, a two-time winner at the time, was also the top seed that year.


2015 Winner: Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic was No. 1 in the world when he met the No. 2 ranked player Roger Federer at the 2015 US Open. This meeting marked the 42nd installment of their rivalry. He won 6–4, 5–7, 6–4, 6–4 to capture his second men’s singles trophy and 10th major title overall.


2014 Winner: Marin Čilić

The 2014 US Open men’s singles final marked the first one in 11 years that didn’t feature Novak Djokovic or Roger Federer. No. 14 seed Marin Čilić prevailed over No. 10 seed Kei Nishikori in a battle of first-time Grand Slam finalists. Čilić became the lowest-seeded men’s singles champion since 2002.


2013 Winner: Rafael Nadal

At the 2013 US Open men’s singles final, Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal faced off for the third time in four years. Nadal defeated Djokovic 6-2, 3-6, 6-4, 6-1, marking his second US Open title and 13th Grand Slam title overall.


2012 Winner: Andy Murray

In a historical win at the 2012 US Open, Andy Murray defeated defending US Open champion Novak Djokovic 7-6(10), 7-5, 206, 3-6, 6-2 for his first career Grand Slam singles title. It marked the first men’s Grand Slam singles championship win for Great Britain since 1936.


Previous Men’s Winners

YearChampionRunner-upFinal Score
2022Carlos AlcarazCasper Ruud6–4, 2–6, 7–6(7–1), 6–3
2021Daniil MedvedevNovak Djokovic6–4, 6–4, 6–4
2020Dominic ThiemAlexander Zverev2–6, 4–6, 6–4, 6–3, 7–6
2019Rafael NadalDaniil Medvedev7–5, 6–3, 5–7, 4–6, 6–4
2018Novak DjokovicJuan Martín del Potro6–3, 7–6, 6–3
2017Rafael NadalKevin Anderson6–3, 6–3, 6–4
2016Stan WawrinkaNovak Djokovic6–7, 6–4, 7–5, 6–3
2015Novak DjokovicRoger Federer6–4, 5–7, 6–4, 6–4
2014Marin ČilićKei Nishikori6–3, 6–3, 6–3
2013Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic6–2, 3–6, 6–4, 6–1
2012Andy MurrayNovak Djokovic7–6(12–10), 7–5, 2–6, 3–6, 6–2
2011Novak DjokovicRafael Nadal6–2, 6–4, 6–7, 6–1
2010Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic6–4, 5–7, 6–4, 6–2
2009Juan Martín del PotroRoger Federer3–6, 7–6, 4–6, 7–6, 6–2
2008Roger FedererAndy Murray6–2, 7–5, 6–2
2007Roger FedererNovak Djokovic7–6, 7–6, 6–4
2006Roger FedererAndy Roddick6–2, 4–6, 7–5, 6–1
2005Roger FedererAndre Agassi6–3, 2–6, 7–6, 6–1
2004Roger FedererLleyton Hewitt6–0, 7–6, 6–0
2003Andy RoddickJuan Carlos Ferrero6–3, 7–6, 6–3
2002Pete SamprasAndre Agassi6–3, 6–4, 5–7, 6–4
2001Lleyton HewittPete Sampras7–6, 6–1, 6–1
2000Marat SafinPete Sampras6–4, 6–3, 6–3
1999Andre AgassiTodd Martin6–4, 6–7, 6–7, 6–3, 6–2
1998Patrick RafterMark Philippoussis6–3, 3–6, 6–2, 6–0
1997Patrick RafterGreg Rusedski6–3, 6–2, 4–6, 7–5

Loading Events


You Might Like


2022 US Open Fan Buyers Guide

The US Open tennis championship is summer’s greatest spectacle. Tennis fans from around the world travel to New York to witness all the aces, smashes and epi...


Step Inside: Arthur Ashe Stadium in Queens, New York

Step inside the Arthur Ashe Stadium, a part of the Billie Jean King National Tennis Center and learn about the largest tennis stadium in the world.


Past Winners of the US Open Women’s Tennis Championship

Every year, the US Open draws thousands of tennis fans to New York for the greatest summer spectacular. The women’s tennis championship starts with 128 playe...