The Last 10 Winners of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship

The unforgettable moments, the momentum swings, the unbelievable shots, and the high drama make the NCAA Men’s Division 1 Basketball Tournament a must-watch event each year. The NCAA tournament winners are remembered forever and the history of March Madness is deep with iconic shots, legendary figures, and incredible championship runs. Each season culminates in a tournament that everyone keeps an eye on. As we gear up for this season’s tournament, let’s take a look at the past winners of the NCAA Men’s Basketball National Championship.

Loading Events

2023 Champion: Connecticut

In one of the wildest tournaments in history, the University of Connecticut Huskies came out on top for their fifth title. Connecticut entered the tournament as a 4-seed, the lowest seed of the Final Four teams. UConn was joined by 9th-seeded Florida Atlantic, 5th-seeded Miami, and 5th-seeded San Diego State. All of the top seeds were knocked out before the Elite Eight for the first time ever. For the second time in history, a 16-seed topped a 1-seed as Fairleigh Dickinson knocked Purdue out in the first round. 15th-seeded Princeton made a run to the Sweet Sixteen and, for the sixth straight tournament, the reigning champion failed to make the Sweet Sixteen. Ultimately, Dan Hurley’s Huskies won each of their contests by at least 13 points en route to the title.

2022 Champion: Kansas

The Jayhawks won their fourth title — and first  since 2008 — in a tournament filled with storylines. Cinderella story Saint Peter’s became the first 15-seed to ever reach the Elite Eight. Four double-digit seeds advanced to the Sweet Sixteen as Iowa State, Miami, and Michigan joined Saint Peter’s. The Final Four featured lots of drama as legendary Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski saw his career end at the hands of rival North Carolina in the national semifinals. Then, in the national championship game, Kansas erased a 15-point halftime deficit to edge North Carolina for the title.

2021 Champion: Baylor

The Baylor Bears stifled the rest of the field, letting up an average of 62 points per game to become NCAA Tournament champions for the first time. While Baylor rode defense to the championship, the tournament’s main focus was on Gonzaga’s pursuit of being the first team in 45 years to finish a season undefeated. The Bulldogs needed a full 45 minutes to survive 11-seeded UCLA in one of the best Final Four games ever, as Jalen Suggs hit a game-winning, half court shot at the overtime buzzer to win the game. But Gonzaga’s magical season came to an end against Baylor as Jared Butler and company dominated the final en route to a 16-point win. The entire tournament was played in various sites in Indiana amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

2020 Champion: None

The 2020 NCAA Tournament was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2019 Champion: Virginia

Virginia bounced back from one of the all-time shocking losses in tournament history the year before to become winners in March Madness for the first time. Texas Tech and Auburn each made their first Final Fours. Two of the regional finals went to overtime as did the title game and UVA eventually topped Texas Tech for the title.

2018 Champion: Villanova

The Villanova Wildcats were crowned champions for the second time in three years. The Wildcats averaged 83 points per game en route to the title, including pouring in 95 points in their Final Four contest against Kansas. There were plenty of upsets throughout the tournament as UMBC became the first 16-seed to ever beat a 1-seed, topping Virginia. Five double-digit seeds won first round games and 11th-seeded Loyola Chicago rode a Cinderella run all the way to the Final Four.

2017 Champion: North Carolina

Roy Williams secured his third national title and North Carolina won the sixth in school history, topping Gonzaga who made its first final. Seventh-seeded South Carolina shocked many by winning an East Regional that featured reigning champion Villanova. The Tar Heels edged Kentucky in the South Regional Final and then Oregon in the Final Four before taking down Gonzaga.

2016 Champion: Villanova

In one of the most dramatic finishes in NCAA Tournament history, Villanova won its first title since 1985 with a buzzer-beating three-pointer from Kris Jenkins to top North Carolina. There were a ton of upsets earlier in the tournament as eight double-digit seeds won first round matchups. 10th-seeded Syracuse rode its suffocating zone defense all the way to the Final Four before its luck ran out against North Carolina. Villanova dominated Oklahoma in the other semifinal before claiming the title.

2015 Champion: Duke

Mike Krzyzewski won his fifth title as Duke topped Wisconsin in the title game. Three #1 seeds made the Final Four as Kentucky and 7th-seeded Michigan State also made the semifinals. Wisconsin ended Kentucky’s perfect season with a Final Four victory. But Tyus Jones and the rest of the Blue Devils proved to be too much.

2014 Champion: UConn

The 7th-seeded UConn Huskies won their fourth title, topping 8th-seeded Kentucky in the championship. The final was the first time a 1-, 2-, or 3-seed wasn’t in the championship. Only one top seed made the Final Four as Florida took down the surprise of the tournament, 11th-seeded Dayton, in the Elite Eight to advance to the Final Four. But MOP Shabazz Napier led UConn over Florida and then Kentucky, making his team the first 7-seed to ever win it all.

Loading Events


You Might Like


The Road to Victory: Traversing the Men’s 2024 March Madness Venues

Every team enters March with one thing on their minds: cutting down the nets after winning an NCAA National Championship. March Madness is one of the most ic...


Step Inside: University of Dayton Arena – Home of the Dayton Flyers

Home of the Dayton Flyers The University of Dayton Arena is located in Dayton, Ohio and is the home of the Dayton Flyers basketball teams. It is most well-kn...


Step Inside: CHI Health Center – Home of the Creighton Bluejays

Home of the Creighton Bluejays CHI Health Center is located in Omaha, Nebraska and is the home of the Creighton University Bluejays men’s basketball team. CH...