Metallica Concert Setlists: What to Expect at the M72 World Tour

Metallica have become one of the highest-grossing live acts of all-time for good reason: Aside from hosting a staggering collection of classic concerts, the heavy metal band has continued to push themselves as a touring band after performing shows every year for over four nearly uninterrupted decades.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame band’s latest massive outing, the M72 World Tour, offers the most ambitious and immersive experience of the group’s career, with each city’s “No Repeat Weekend” visit featuring “2 Nights. 2 Different Sets. 2 Different Opening Acts. In the Round.” The M72 World Tour officially kicked off in April 2023, just behind the release of their eleventh album 72 Seasons, and follows a five-leg circuit that will see the band return to North America in August 2024.

Take a look at a common Metallica tour setlist and find everything you need to know about the band’s concerts before they return to the U.S. in August 2024.

Metallica Concert Setlist Info

Metallica have prided themselves on creating a unique setlist for each show since touring their 2003 album St. Anger, but the group decided to raise the bar further for the M72 World Tour, which features two shows per city with no-repeat songs. The stadium-sized venues will also face a new configuration with the band performing on a ring-shaped stage, placing their dedicated Snake Pit fan section directly in the center.

Although each Metallica setlist is unique by design, the band still delivers many of their most familiar, most-played songs, including “Master of Puppets,” “Enter Sandman,” “Seek & Destroy” and “For Whom the Bell Tolls.” The band has also seamlessly installed newer material from their 2023 album 72 Seasons such as the Grammy-winning title track and singles like “Lux Æterna,” “If Darkness Had a Son” and “Too Far Gone?”

Below, you can find a breakdown of Metallica’s live setlist from a two-night tour stop at Detroit, Michigan’s Ford Field on November 10 and 12, 2023; the performance closed the first of two North American legs within the ongoing M72 World Tour. Check back after the tour resumes in North America in August 2024 to see updated setlist information.

Metallica M72 World Tour Setlist:

Night 1:

  1. Creeping Death
  2. Harvester of Sorrow
  3. Through the Never
  4. Leper Messiah
  5. Lux Æterna
  6. Too Far Gone?
  7. Fade to Black
  8. Shadows Follow
  9. Orion
  10. Nothing Else Matters
  11. Sad but True
  12. The Day That Never Comes
  13. Hardwired
  14. Fuel
  15. Seek & Destroy
  16. Master of Puppets

Night 2:

  1. Whiplash
  2. For Whom the Bell Tolls
  3. Ride the Lightning
  4. Dirty Window
  5. 72 Seasons
  6. If Darkness Had a Son
  7. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  8. You Must Burn!
  9. The Call of Ktulu
  10. The Unforgiven
  11. Wherever I May Roam
  12. Moth Into Flame
  13. Fight Fire With Fire
  14. Whiskey in the Jar ([traditional] cover)
  15. One
  16. Enter Sandman


Metallica Tour Stats

Current tour: M72 World Tour (2023-2024)

Set time: On the M72 World Tour, Metallica usually went on stage between 8:45 and 8:55 p.m., though set times vary. Check back once the M72 World Tour resumes in North America for updated information.

Length of average Metallica show: 2 hours, 5 minutes (on M72 World Tour)

Past tours:

  • Kill ‘Em All for One (1983–1984)
  • Ride the Lightning Tour (1985)
  • Damage, Inc. Tour (1986-1987)
  • Damaged Justice (1988-1989)
  • Wherever We May Roam Tour (1991-1992)
  • Nowhere Else to Roam (1993)
  • Shit Hits the Sheds Tour (1994)
  • Poor Touring Me (1996-1997)
  • Poor Re-Touring Me Tour (1998-1999)
  • Summer Sanitarium Tour (2000)
  • Summer Sanitarium 2003 (2003)
  • Madly in Anger with the World Tour (2003-2004)
  • Escape from the Studio ’06 (2006)
  • World Magnetic Tour (2008-2010)
  • 2011 Vacation Tour (2011)
  • The Full Arsenal Tour (2012)
  • Summer Tour 2013 (2013)
  • By Request Tour (2014)
  • Lords of Summer Tour (2015)
  • WorldWired Tour (2016-2019)

Metallica Discography:

  • Kill ‘Em All (1983)
  • Ride the Lightning (1984)
  • Master of Puppets (1986)
  • …And Justice for All (1988)
  • Metallica (1991)
  • Load (1996)
  • Reload (1997)
  • St. Anger (2003)
  • Death Magnetic (2008)
  • Hardwired… to Self-Destruct (2016)
  • 72 Seasons (2023)

Metallica’s Popular Songs:

  • “Enter Sandman”
  • “Nothing Else Matters”
  • “Master of Puppets”
  • “For Whom the Bell Tolls”
  • “One”

Metallica’s Recent Opening Acts:

How to Get Tickets For Metallica Concerts

Tickets for Metallica’s M72 World Tour are available via Ticketmaster. Standard Tickets, including single and 2-day tickets, are available for the following dates.

Loading Events

Loading Events


You Might Like


Third Eye Blind Concert Setlists: What to Expect at the Summer Gods Tour

Third Eye Blind will reign supreme on the Summer Gods Tour, the fourth of its kind in the last decade for the multi-platinum rock group. Along with first-tim...


Taking Back Sunday Setlist: What to Expect at the 2024 North American Tour

Update (May 30): This article has been updated with Taking Back Sunday’s latest average setlist. The festival circuit is so last summer for Taking Back...


Fan Guide to Creed’s Setlists: What to Expect at the Summer of ’99 Tour

Creed are ready to take their setlist higher for the Summer of ’99 Tour, the alternative rock band’s triumphant return from a 12-year hiatus. After several s...